Nutrition Blog

Featured Posts

March 22, 2018

I'm often asked by vegetarians and vegans if they're eating enough protein. During the year, people who eat predominantly plant foods can easily get enough protein. This becomes more challenging for vegans and vegetarians who celebrate Passover, when they can't rely on their usual protein sources. Still, with the right foods, meeting your protein needs can be done.

Passover, the holiday that celebrates freedom, is accompanied by symbolic foods on Seder tables around the world. The holiday commemorates the miraculous exodus of the Jewish slaves from Egypt. Since they did not have time to bake bread, foods which are leavened when they come into contact with water are not eaten on the holiday.

Five major grains, among them oats, wheat (wheat matzah is permitted), barley, spelt, and rye are off the list, along with any dishes made from or combined with those grains. Matzah, which is baked quickly, is a major staple of the holiday. Most people have a love-hate relationship with matzah, as it...

Please reload

What's the level of evidence exercise lowers breast cancer risk?

October 31, 2019

1/10
Please reload

Archive